Goodbye to the Bold Voyager

My favorite uncle passed away last Saturday. He was my dad’s big brother and his best friend. For the life of me I never understood why they were so close. Aside from their passion for boxing, they really had nothing in common.  My dad was reserved and a  homebody, my uncle was adventurous and outgoing.  My dad was always cool, calm and collected my uncle was fiesty, emotional and temperamental,. My dad was jologs, my uncle on the other hand, was very cosmopolitan.

But I guess this had what people call true “bromance”. Their brotherly bond went beyond interests and common experiences. It even extended to us kids. I think my uncle always considered my brother and I as his children in the same way my dad thought of my cousins as his own.

His death came as a shock. And there were a lot of things I wasn’t able to thank him for. I know he reads every single entry of my blog. So I’m hoping he has his spectacles on heaven as I try to find the words to express my gratitude.

1. I know this sounds cliché,  but thank you for always being there for me.. I remember the many summers I spent in your house when I was growing up. You would generously extend your time  and your resources to take care of me. Mom even calls me your youngest child because I spent as much as time in your house as I did in ours.  It was only when I was older that I realized that some of those years were the toughest in your life. Yet you remained so generous and so gracious, making sure you took me to every family trip and showering me with the same presents you bought for your children. You never once lost your temper with me, even when I was being an inconsiderate prepubescent child and took forever on the phone or in the bathroom.  For you this was a feat. And I always marveled at how calm and gentle you were with me. Fast forward to my life as an adult, I appreciate the long informative messages in facebook,  the genuine interest you had in my business, your words of encouragement every time I came up with a marketing gimmick that you liked  and yes, even the bursts of temper that you unfailingly expressed every time you feel I’m being treated unfairly.  You were in every sense of the word, a very doting uncle.

2. Thank you for taking care of my dad. When he started getting sick, your presence became a source of comfort for all of us. You were always on top of things and we knew that no doctor will dare mess up on your watch. Your attention to detail actually became a running joke between me and Det. “Oh no. He’s coming to visit. Must. Memorize. Charts”.  Seriously though, the  love you had  for my dad was unprecedented and we can never thank you enough for being there for him. You were one of the last people he asked for before he passed away. And if there’s anything that makes me happy right now, it’s the thought that you’re once again reunited just like the old days.

3. Thank you for stepping up and constantly reaching out when Papa passed away. I knew you were dealing with your own grief, but that never stopped you from making sure that we were all okay. I remember how you used to ask me every week how everyone was doing. Saying “ok” wasn’t an option. You would inquire about all aspects of our lives, from our health, to our personal lives just to make sure that “ok” really meant “ok”. Your presence made me feel like a part of papa was still alive. Thank you for blessing us with that.

4. Thank you for keeping the family together. Yes, my dad may have been the voice of reason, but you were our heart. You made sure to stay in touch with every single member of the family. You did everything in your power to protect us and to make sure we were all taken cared off. There were times when was almost afraid to ask for certain things from you because I know you would bend over backwards just to help me out. If I needed someone’s number, you would message all your contacts just to get it for me. If I was asking about something technical, you would answer me in detail, complete with google and literary  references. If whine about some punk messing up my car, you would cuss out the unknown culprit and make sure I call the authorities.

I want you to know that you don’t need to worry about us. Through your efforts, our family is airtight. We will continue to extend ourselves and help each other the way you helped us. Rest well dear uncle. We love you.

Leave a Reply

